Dialog Process

Since 2011 Haben und Brauchen demanded an open cultural political dialogue about the situation and future of the production and presentation of contemporary art in Berlin. With the formation of the Jour Fixe Bildende Kunst upon the recommendation of the Council for the Arts in November 2013, and with the commissioning of Haben und Brauchen and bbk berlin to develop a dialogue concept, the Senate Chancellery for Cultural Affairs began moving down a path toward dialogue.

As part of a closed weekend retreat in mid-February 2014 three working groups took up their tasks and developed over the following months—with the participation of agents from other initiatives as well—three elements for a long-term and nonpartisan dialogue process about the crucial issues in the thematic fields of work, city/space and notions of art. This process is supposed to complement and further the urgently required adaptation of existing funding models in the visual arts.

goengrich_gegen_die_wand_kl

Finally, a draft was created that describes the key points of social and cultural city development from the perspective of artists living in Berlin, explicates backgrounds, and above all proposed a multi-leveled procedure that included a diversity of agents of contemporary art, groups and initiatives active in urban, social and cultural policy as well as political representatives and other senate departments.

In October, Haben und Brauchen presented and publicly discussed the concept paper among others with the state secretary for culture Tim Renner. Shortly after the discussion the Senate Chancellery for Culturall Affairs rejected the realisation of the dialog process.

Download Konzeptpapier

goengrich_gegen_die_wand

Dialogverfahren

Seit 2011 forderte Haben und Brauchen einen offenen kulturpolitischen Dialog zur Situation und Zukunft der Produktion und Vermittlung zeitgenössischer Kunst in Berlin. Mit der Bildung des Jour Fixe Bildende Kunst auf Anraten des Rats für die Künste im November 2013 wurden Haben und Brauchen und der bbk berlin von der Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten beauftragt, ein Dialogkonzept zu entwickeln.

Im Rahmen eines internen Klausurwochenendes Mitte Februar 2014, mit einer Auftaktveranstaltung im Flutgraben, nahmen drei Arbeitsgruppen ihre Tätigkeit auf und entwickelten – unter Beteiligung von Akteuren anderer Initiativen – drei Bausteine für einen langfristigen und überparteilichen Dialogprozess zu den gegenwärtig zentralen Fragen in den Bereichen Arbeit, Stadt/Raum und Kunstbegriff. Dieser soll die dringlich geforderten Anpassungen existierender Fördermodelle in der bildenden Kunst ergänzen und weiterentwickeln.

goengrich_gegen_die_wand_kl

Im Ergebnis entstand ein Konzeptentwurf, der die entscheidenden Themenfelder der sozialen und kulturellen Stadtentwicklung aus Sicht der in Berlin lebenden KünstlerInnen und freien KulturproduzentInnen beschreibt, Hintergründe erläutert und vor allem ein mehrstufiges Verfahren vorschlägt, das diverse Akteure der zeitgenösssischen Kunst, stadt-, sozial- und kulturpolitisch aktive Gruppen und Initiativen sowie VertreterInnen der Politik und anderer Senatsverwaltungen mit einbezieht.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.
Im Oktober 2014 wurde das Konzept öffentlich vorgestellt im ZKU und dort u.a. auch mit Tim Renner diskutiert. Die Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten lehnte die Durchführung des Dialogverfahrens dann kurz darauf ab.